Preparing Students for Successful Future

What is Naplan ?

The NAPLAN is National Assessment Program - Literacy and Numeracy. It was introduced in 2008 to measure whether Australian students are meeting educational outcomes. It is an annual assessment for students of years 3, 5, 7 and 9, which tests the various skills that are essential for every student to progress through school and life. NAPLAN takes place every year in the second full week of May.

It is conducted by Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA), in collaboration with representatives from all states and territories and non-government school sectors. ACARA is the independent statutory authority which is responsible for the development of the national curriculum, the national assessment program, and the national data collection and reporting the program that supports learning for Australian students.

Benefits of Naplan

  • It checks the literacy and numeracy skills of young Australians because that provide the critical foundation for learning and for their productive and rewarding participation in the community.
  • It acts as a certain level of performance for the year 9 students, to progress to higher levels of study.
  • It provides data, which is used as a diagnostic tool to improve teaching in the classroom.
  • It is valued for providing parents with a comparable snapshot of their child’s progress.
  • It identifies strengths and weaknesses that need attention.
  • It is a deciding factor for child’s education in future and their choice of career.
  • It helps in deciding if child can get admission in the dream school and qualify selective school examination and scholarships.
  • It helps in preparation for competitive examinations.

Syllabus at a glimpse

It is a general assessment of literacy and numeracy proficiency, providing a snapshot of how students around the country answer a particular set of Math and English test questions. The Literacy tests draw content from the English learning area, and the numeracy tests are based on content in mathematics learning area. The content of each test is informed by the Australian Curriculum, across four domains - reading, writing, spelling, grammar, numeracy and punctuation. The test items are based primarily on knowledge, understanding and skills attained from the previous year.